Upcycling

cjas_fruta low

Upcycling is the process of converting waste materials or useless products into new materials or products of better quality or for better environmental value.

The first recorded use of the term upcycling was by Reiner Pilz of Pilz GmbH in an article by Thornton Kay of Salvo in 1994.[1]

We talked about the impending EU Demolition Waste Streams directive. «Recycling,» he said, «I call it downcycling. They smash bricks, they smash everything. What we need is upcycling- where old products are given more value, not less.» He despairs of the German situation and recalls the supply of a large quantity of reclaimed woodblock from an English supplier for a contract in Nuremberg while just down the road a load of similar blocks was scrapped. In the road outside his premises, was the result of the Germans’ demolition waste recycling. It was a pinky looking aggregate with pieces of handmade brick, old tiles and discernible parts of useful old items mixed with crushed concrete. Is this the future for Europe?

Acerca de phimola

I´m a universal designer. My advanced mind is full of surprises. Really ingenious, this cocktail of knowledges with my sharp mind. I love a long life, a long moment and eternal instant. I´m ecologist´s urban. I trust in values of creativity and humankind. Sustainable Commonwhealth is the next generation of economy. In this blog with my drawings search anyway of view. Cyclic Being is a miniature collection with more than eighteen pieces since 2014. Barred Structure is the collection in working process.